Skip navigation.

What type of fertilizer?

Last post 07-04-2015 9:07 AM by Backache. 46 replies.

Page 2 of 4 (47 items) < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next >

• 23/02/2015 07:26 PM
    • kaydee
    • Perthshire
    • 15 Feb 2009
    Top 25 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Well, my 10K tub ( with a plastic handle (!?) is powder without blue flecks, the same as the sacks I used to buy. Not sure what the blue flecks are unless it is just an application marker. Hmm. K

• 23/02/2015 09:14 PM
    • Blackstart
    • Warwickshire
    • 06 Dec 2010
    Top 50 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

When I used to work for a living one of my jobs as apprentice gardener was to mix up 2 or 3 cubic metres of potting compost prior to any potting sessions we would be carrying out. I would use different base fertilisers depending on what was required, e,g, Ficote, J Innes, Osmocote ,etc including Vitax Q4. I used to have to add something called 'Frit' to some of the composts but not, as I recall, to the Vitax mix. 'Frit' was a fertiliser of 'trace elements' aka micronutrients and was required as some fertilisers often just contained the basic macro nutrients (N P K etc). As far as I can remember, Frit was blue, so could this be the blue fleck in VQ4? Sorry if I've been a bit boring. Blackstart

• 24/02/2015 07:28 AM
    • Backache
    • W. Kent
    • 31 Dec 2012
    Top 50 Contributor
    Reply | Contact