Skip navigation.

Pruning queries

Last post 17-09-2011 2:16 PM by Keen Fingers. 3 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)

• 08/09/2011 11:37 AM
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Dear all I am new to gardening, since buying my first house a year ago. I did nothing with the garden until about February of this year. It has quite an established garden, and I think I've managed to identify the majority of things in the garden. I just need some advice on how to care for them, now that the autumn has set in. Rather than post lots of separate things, I'll list the plants and anyone is then free to reply. I have the following: Peony Sarah Bernhardt - I have cut off the flowers and now just have lots of leaves. Do I leave these until they have died and then cut them off? Where do I cut back to, as the main stems are thick and very healthy-looking. I think this is cut back in autumn? Lupins - These have a large main trunk of stems. Do you cut only the foliage and associated stems back to ground level and leave the rest of the plant? Is this done in autumn or spring? Weigela praecox variegata - I cut this back in spring as soon as it had flowered. I have lots of new growth. Only the base has since flowered but I will leave these on the plant and wait until the whole plant flowers next spring. Montbretia - orange flowers at the moment. Are the spikes of foliage cut back, or are they left? Hebe Andersonii Variegata - Purple blooms have now died. Can I just leave these? Some of the variegated foliage is actually reverting to green. When do I cut this back? Sedum "Autumn Joy" - just coming into flower. Presumably these are just left. Unfortunately, I have no room to divide these, and put them somewhere else, so they are starting to split. Magnolia stellata - this actually double-flowered, once in spring, and also a little in late summer. Presumably a weather thing! Don't think there's any pruning required? Would appreciate your advice. Best wishes. KF.

• 09/09/2011 12:21 AM