Skip navigation.

Advice on new garden

Last post 02-10-2012 8:41 PM by Snark. 4 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)

• 07/09/2012 09:45 AM
    • Kai
    • 07 Sep 2012
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

We've just moved and the garden has been severely neglected. We are in the process of clearing the weeds on the borders and lawn at the moment. I'm a novice gardener and would like some advice on what to do.

It's an east facing garden, not sure of soil type yet but there were some daisies if that helps! I'd like to grow some low maintenance plants, predominantly hardy evergreens if possible. It's roughly 12ft wide by 16ft long with a concrete path down the middle of some very parched and weedy lawn.. There is a shed at the back and weedy borders around the entire edge.

Here is what I thought I could do: Refresh the lawn with some new lawn seed.

Grow some rhodedendrons, bergenias and geraniums in the borders for some colour and interest.

Also grow some poppies for height and because they are self seeding which should save some effort in future

Install a trellis at the back and grow some honeysuckle to try and cover some of the brick wall by the shed (from the side of a house that overlooks us).

Would this work and when do I need to get started on the different elements?

Thanks

• 07/09/2012 03:09 PM
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

I am similar to you and a novice too, before you go ahead and just start digging up your garden at will... to begin your transformation i'd personally draw up a sketch of the various views of your garden, like a panoramic camera shot... doesnt have to be detailed just enough so you know whats going where... to get a feel for it.

With your flowers, use felt tips to dot accordingly to get a colour span cos there'll be an of outstanding colour which wont suit...

when you're happy with your design and plan... then proceed to start hacking away at unwanted land pieces...