Skip navigation.

Sick/Dying Eucalyptus Tree

Last post 17-08-2011 2:40 PM by Scott. 7 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)

• 02/05/2011 06:09 PM
    • BeltonRose
    • Leicestershire
    • 27 Feb 2011
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

We have a mature 20ft Eucalyptus tree which seems to have suffered from the harsh winter. The leaves have turned brown and brittle and are now falling from the tree. I can't see any signs of new growth. Is it dead? Any suggestions on what to do? Thanks

• 06/05/2011 12:48 PM
    • MC
    • UK
    • 19 Sep 2008
    Top 50 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Hi I'm not an expert on tree care but generally, if you cut out what looks to be dying, this sometimes gives the tree a chance to put energy into new growth. I thought my bay tree had had it last year from frost and snow damage but after a good prune, it recovered and is doing as well as ever. I'm sure there is someone out there with more expertise than myself though!

• 18/05/2011 04:50 AM
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Hi, we have moved house and have a very large Eucalyptus Tree in the garden , how severe can we prune it and when should that be done ? our neighbour wants it down but we do not as it screens their house from us.

• 19/05/2011 12:24 PM
    • Linnea
    • 13 Jan 2007
    Top 150 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

I've seen them taken back to stumps so I don't think you have anything to worry about, but I'd probably wait until autumn or winter when there is not so much sap

• 19/05/2011 09:45 PM
    Top 500 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

I've never grown eucalyptus, but I know that flower arrangers who do often keep it cut right down to a stump.  The leaves of the young shoots are quite different (round) from the mature ones (long and thin) and generally considered to be more decorative.  It looks like it's a risky thing to do unless the tree is still fairly young, though -- see http://apps.rhs.org.uk/advicesearch/Profile.aspx?pid=136.

• 19/05/2011 09:52 PM