Skip navigation.

Mammoth Onions

Last post 10-04-2009 9:05 PM by Alex's Legacy. 10 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)

• 23/02/2009 09:02 PM
    • Alex's Legacy
    • Sutton Coldfield
    • 14 Feb 2009
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

I am new to vegetable gardening and I am following in the steps of my father who has grown vegetables since we were children.  I am bound to be constantly asking questions as I am no longer able to ask him.

My first question relates to my onions -  I have planted some mammoth onions in my greenhouse which I believe are now at the crook stage.  My book recommends that I plant them on into new pots at this stage but I started them off in cells.  Do I need to plant them on or will they be ok left in the cellular trays.

Thank you

Jilly
  • 24/02/2009 08:49 PM
    • Phot's-Moll
    • The sunny South coast.
    • 06 Jan 2007
    Top 10 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

If they're sown one seed to a cell, then they should be OK as they are. If several are sown together then seperating them is probably best.

Hopefully Digger will be along to advise - he knows his onions!

http://patsysplot.blogspot.co.uk/
  • 27/02/2009 09:03 AM
    • Alex's Legacy
    • Sutton Coldfield
    • 14 Feb 2009
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Thank you - Digger where are you!

Jilly
  • 27/02/2009 09:16 PM
    Top 10 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

They will be fine in cells for a while and when they have rooted a bit more in the cells they can be moved to individual pots much more easily than pricking out seedlings. Boggy

Beware the bat-eared bogweevil
  • 13/03/2009 06:45 PM
    • Digger
    • Northern UK
    • 18 Jul 2005
    Top 10 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Hello, I've been away for a while so didn't get to look at this post, When you say mammoth Onions am i right to presume they are Robinson's?

have you grown them under lights with any heat? are they grown from seed or did you get seedlings or pips

digger Devil Sage of the fells