Skip navigation.

Cheapest way to fill a garden?

Last post 23-03-2010 8:55 PM by Wilder. 8 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)

• 02/12/2008 11:12 AM
    • Stargazer
    • Durham
    • 02 Dec 2008
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Hello.  I've just moved into a rented house that I'll be living in for two years.  The garden is sparse to put it lightly.  I want to put some plants in because I love gardening and because I want it to look nice.  However, I'm quite new to gardening (only been doing it a few years) and don't really know the best way to fill it on a budget (I don't want to spend too much money on a garden I'm only going to be in for two years). 

I have brought some plants with me from my old garden that I am going to split but I'm not sure how suitable they are going to be because although the rear garden is south facing it gets a lot of shade from very tall trees.  The front garden is north facing so I was thinking about putting lots of juicy hostas in, does anyone know if you can get these in plugs or seeds?

Does anyone know of other ways to get cheap/free plants?

• 02/12/2008 11:53 AM
    • Susiq
    • Northumberland
    • 16 Feb 2008
    Top 10 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

If you are an RHS member, you could check out the seed distribution list, there's loads of seeds etc to choose from and you only pay £10 for the administration. You'd need to be quick tho' as most people have probably placed their orders and its on a first come first served basis. Failing that, if you are friendly with the neighbours they might supply you with some cuttings/seeds of plants they have, which would presumably be suitable as they are in the same location as you.

• 02/12/2008 05:56 PM
    • Phot's-Moll
    • The sunny South coast.
    • 06 Jan 2007
    Top 10 Contributor
    Reply | Contact