Skip navigation.

Yew death!

Last post 09-04-2008 6:24 PM by Ariadne. 7 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)

• 06/04/2008 03:41 PM
    • Ariadne
    • Contemplating on the compost heap
    • 05 Apr 2008
    Top 150 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Hello, I'm a newbie & I need the benefit of everyone's advice!

After growing Yews from cuttings over several years, & growing them successfully in my large very open (understatement!) garden for about 6 or 7 years, last year 3/4 of them suddenly upped & died. I know we had an atrocious summer, & yes for approx 10 weeks parts of my garden was under 2 feet of water, but not the part the yews were growing in. So, after fetching them out of the ground some months later (to give them every chance of miraculous resusitation!) & finding no evidence of disease or pest, I'm stumped as to the cause of death.

Can anyone suggest what may have caused it & whether this is perhaps an area I should avoid planting in.

Thanks in advance,  Ari x

Sitting, spinning threads of stories & weaving the colourful strands of life.
  • 06/04/2008 03:44 PM
    • Bog Myrtle
    • Southern Turkey
    • 07 Feb 2007
    Top 50 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

You're saying your garden is very open Ariadne, so I wonder if these plants could have been killed by the wind? Lots of conifers are very susceptible to wind chill, and will go brown and die if exposed to sustained periods of very strong or very cold wind.

• 06/04/2008 03:55 PM
    • Ariadne
    • 05 Apr 2008
    Top 150 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Could be, but if that were the case, why last year?

They were growing apparently well before the horrible weather started late last spring, & have weathered some truly horrendous gales, cold & otherwise in the past & seemed to thrive on it.

I have got more yews in pots currently, but don't now know where to plant them. I was hoping to use them there as part of a shelter-belt. 

• 07/04/2008 12:20 PM
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Hi There,