Skip navigation.

Soil/compost mix for raised vegetable beds?

Last post 08-12-2007 12:25 PM by bogweevil. 3 replies.

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)

• 06/12/2007 05:48 PM
    • Harris
    • 06 Dec 2007
    Not Ranked
    Reply | Contact

Having recently moved to a new house in on the Hants/Surrey border I wish to cultivate a vegetable patch. The garden has very sandy soil and many trees with shallow roots, criss crossing the garden. I think that a series of raised beds of approximately 45cm depth would be a suitable option and have an area of the garden with good light, in mind. I would like to prepare the beds over the Winter for sowing in early Spring. My query is what mix to fill the beds with. I have no soil as such in the garden or compost heap to plunder. Look froward to hearing your thoughts.

• 07/12/2007 01:30 PM
    Top 150 Contributor
    Reply | Contact

Hi Harris, Welcome to the board! :-) I'm studying soils on my RHS Level 2 at the moment, and one thing I've gathered about sandy soils is that whilst it gives good drainage, and generally warms up quicker than a heavy soil, it can lose moisture and nutrients very quickly. It sounds like you're asking the question at the right time (i.e. before you get started). You've not mentioned what PH value the soil is, or how big an area you're talking about? Whilst I can't give you expert advice, I'd be tempted to get a good thick layer of organic material on it now; leaf mulch or good garden/kitchen compost would probably be a good bet. Are you planning on then buying a bulk load of top soil to raise it up to 45cm? 45cm does sound very high; would 30cm be good enough I wonder? I know you can add powdered clay to extremely sandy soils, but I don't have any personal experience of that, maybe somebody else on here does? I'm not sure as to the timing, but there are also green manures available quite cheaply nowadays, such as winter rye, that can also be planted to help fix nitrogens in the soil, etc. With such a mild winter